Sign up for email updates from Colorado Association of Fairs and Shows

Home > Convention > Awards & Contests

Awards & Contests

Fair Volunteer of the Year
Fair volunteers and staff work long and hard to see that their annual fair is able to continue as a valuable community
showcase. CAFS encourages fairs to nominate and honor their volunteers and staff that dedicate their time endlessly and tirelessly and show their commitment and passion for their fair and their community.
Eligibility Requirements
  • Nominating fair must be a current member of CAFS
  • Nominee must be a fair volunteer or staff member with a minimum of 5 years of experience in the Fair industry
Fair Manager of the Year
A fair manager has a huge task of responsibility, management and dedication to a fair’s success. CAFS encourages fairs to nominate and honor their fair managers that have dedicated their lives to the fair industry.
Eligibility requirements
  • Nominating fair must be a current member of CAFS
  • Nominee must be in a management position such as those who serve in such capacities as a manager, Board President or department head and are directly active in the success of their fair.
  • The nominee must have a minimum of 5 years of experience in the Fair industry.
Hall of Fame
The CAFS Hall of Fame award is presented to a single individual for distinguished achievement in the Fair industry and
is recognized for their devotion and invaluable service rendered in this regard.
Eligibility Requirements
  • The nominee’s associate fair must be in good standing with CAFS for a minimum of five (5) years.
  • The nominee may be living or deceased. The nominee must have been involved in the Fair industry for a minimum of 10 years. A deceased candidate is eligible for five (5) years following his/her death.
  • A candidate currently not involved with a fair is eligible for ten (10) years following his/her separation from the nominating fair.
  • Nominee shall have contributed to the fair industry, something of value in the field of leadership and education that has proved of value and will continue to prove of value to fairs in the future.
  • Distinguished achievement may include significant contributions to the knowledge and literature of fairs; the design or invention of material, equipment, processes, or technical services; or outstanding service to associations, companies, and other organizations serving fairs, expositions, shows, and exhibitions.
Fair Manager of the Year Nomination
Fair Manager of the Year Nomination
Fair Voulnteer of the Year Nomination
Fair Voulnteer of the Year Nomination

Hall of Fame Award

2021 Chris Wiseman, Colorado State Fair
2018 Ed Kruse, Colorado State Fair
2017 Gene Meisner, Logan County
2015 Jeanne Robison, Colorado State Fair
2014 Alvie Roth, Weld County
2013 Les Mergelman, Delta County
2012 Lois Telck, Fremont County
2011 Tom McBride, Adams County
2010 Paul Telck, Fremont County
2009 Bill Jordan, Rio Blanco County
2007 Teresa Phelps-Burns, Delta County
2006 Mary Richardson, Fremont County
2005 Elda Lousberg, Logan County
2004 Bill Frank, Weld County
2003 Darrell Anderson, Arapahoe County
2002 Charles Sylvester, National Western Stock Show

Fair Person(s) of the Year Award

2019 Mary Willis, Adams County
2018 Lindsay Bagby, Arapahoe County
2017 John Everest, Park County
2016 Scotty Engelhardt, Kiowa County
2014 Diane Pool, Sand & Sage Roundup
2013 Marie Adams, Fremont County
2011 Jeanne Robison, Colorado State Fair
2010 Shane Lessenden, Kiowa County
2009 Rena Olsen, Moffat County
2008 Les Mergleman, Delta County
Leonard Pruett, Prowers County
Gene Meisner, Logan County
2006 Chris Wiseman, Colorado State University
2005 Bill Jordan, Rio Blanco County
2004 Debbie Galle, El Paso County
Robert Holt, Larimer County
Linda Long, Routt County
Paul Telck, Fremont County
Delores Comstock, Fremont County
2001 Orbin "Junior" Hall, El Paso County
2000 Paula Moorehouse, Larimer County

Fair Manager of the Year

2021 Casandra Vossler, Adams County
2019 Pamela Spradlin, Douglas County
2018 Laura Boldt, Boulder County
2017 Gary Peebles, Delta County
2016 Terry Schaaf, Archuleta County
2014 Jonna Negus-Pemberton, Douglas County
2012 Janet Konkel, Weld County
2011 Dorothy Jean Mergelman, Delta County
2009 Michelle Langston, Weld County
2002 Delores Comstock, Fremont County
1999 Jim Abendschan, El Paso County

Associate of the Year

2010 Gordon Maatsch, DGJD Inc.
2009 Steve Mattfeldt, Sun Valley Rides
2008 Danny Brown, Brown's Amusements
2007 Steve Jones & John Fisher, The Yampa Valley Boys
2006 Allied Specialty Insurance
2005 Randy Merrill, Winterset Concert Events
2003 Bob Romero, TBA Fairs & Festivals
2002 Alan Cockerham, Bill Hames Shows
2001 John Ring, Wright's Amusements
2000 Glenda Bell & Barb Fisher, Calamity Jane & Barbwire
1999 Wayne Clark, Bleachers International
1998 Jack Hunter, Staats Custom Awards

Memorial Awards

2006 Bert "Doc" Stratton, Fremont County
2003 Lynn Boughton, Fremont County
2001 Lewis "Lewie" Schwartz, El Paso County

People's Choice Showcase Winners

2008 The Blue Pepper Band & John Eversten
2007 Kahuna Beach Party, Denver CO
2006 Sweet Sunny South, Paonia CO
2005 The Ackermans, Pueblo West CO
2004 Marlo and the Farm Jazz Project, Denver CO
2003 Martini Shot, Pueblo CO
2002 Becca Riggs, Westcliff CO
2001 The Yampa Valley Boys, Steamboat CO

Special Recognition Awards

2009 Amber Smith, CAFS Royalty Coordinator 10 years
2008 Xondra Merrill, CAFS Website
Back to